Share the Spirit

BaubleLike all of you I am trying to wind down and get organised for the madness of Christmas, when we convince ourselves that we are looking forward to the break, when in actual fact we spend so much time readying ourselves with gifts, hanging the decorations and preparing the feast, we really don’t have a break at all.

Our celebrations of the Christmas traditions were a little early this year to accommodate a separation of our family; with the children staying home to mind “the shop” and their animals, whilst Jeff and I make the journey to Brisbane to share the season with extended family. If you’re feeling sorry for the kids, don’t; our departure won’t mean a toasted sandwich and chocolate milk at home on the big day. Marc is well trained in the marinating of the ham and Emma’s trial version of her Grandmother’s “hard sauce” was close to perfect. Josh’s gravy, although a little thick for my taste, has his siblings salivating before they’ve spooned it onto their plates and Roz’s damper dip is in big demand for the Boxing Day Test event. I’m tipping they won’t even know we’re away.
Christmas, however, can be a lonely time for some and as much as I can make light of being away from my children, they at least will have each other. It saddens me to think about those who have no one with whom they can share the spirit of the season. The gifts or tinsel or food are the trappings we share, but the feeling that surrounds Christmas is something totally different to any other time of year.

The celebration of new life, a new beginning, a fresh start needs to be shared to give it credence and establish its meaning in our souls.

So sayeth me, anyway. My near midnight musings are taking on a whole new significance; must be time to go to bed.

Before I seek the solace of my comfy pillow though, I would like to wish all of you in “blog-land” a very special Christmas and a thank you for following my rants throughout the year and for your comments to various posts.

I also offer a small gift of a bonus break from “Snippets” for the next couple of weeks. You deserve some time away from the screen, and I need to rest my fingers and what little brain power I have left, so as to annoy you even more in the New Year!

I do have one last favour before the silly season starts – will you spare a thought for the lonely and less fortunate, before ripping open the wrappings on your first gift or taking that first mouthful of whatever delectable delights you are sitting down to at your Christmas table? The power of positive thoughts is often underestimated.

Have a blessed and peaceful Christmas enjoying the things that are really important about this time of year.

6 thoughts on “Share the Spirit

  1. Happy Christmas to you Tanya and safe travels to Brisbane
    I hope you got some of the rain that fell your way last night.
    A prayer for those less fortunate.

  2. thank you, Tanya, have enjoyed your notes so much, and sharing your life with us, wishing you and your family a very Happy Christmas, and lots of soaking rain whenever you need it….
    Cheers from Rosemary Seam, Kempsey Branch, MNC….

  3. Thankyou Tanya for all of your messages and dedication to your members and their communities. We wish you a good year ahead and may it rain for those that are still dry.

Leave a Reply

