Marion’s Memories

2014 May Marion EmmottGroup Tours afford me the opportunity to meet many wonderful members who work tirelessly for our Country Women’s Association. Work that not only enriches the fabric of their communities but also engenders personal well-being, camaraderie and a sense of fulfillment from honest and shared effort, which benefits everyone.

I met Marion Emmott whilst touring the Far South Coast Group and shared morning tea with the members of Bodalla Branch. Marion’s comment about not remembering a time when she did not want to attend a meeting stayed in my thoughts and so I asked if she would relate her story for you.

Marion is the sole carer for her husband who turned 100 the day before my visit in early March, so she had arranged some respite and was ‘playing hooky’ for the morning.

My thanks to Branch President Colleen Constable who recorded Marion’s words and forwarded them to me with the following comment; “Marion turned 91 on 23rd March 2014; I think I also mentioned to you Marion embraces all new members with such warmth and enthusiasm and continues to praise and encourage all of us – just a beautiful lady.”

Below Marion’s reflection on her time with CWA:

 “For over 60 years the Country Women’s Association has been very much part of my life. Coming from the city of Goulburn to the then very small village of Bodalla, I was delighted to be invited to the local branch of CWA. Thinking this would be a way to make new friends, I was not disappointed. The welcome I received was so warm and everyone was so friendly I decided to become a member. I was soon involved in all aspects of CWA, I can truthfully say I do not recall a time when I did not want to attend a meeting. I have made some wonderful friends through CWA and have so many happy memories.

The offices I have held in our branch have meant a great deal to me I have always enjoyed Group Council meetings and Group and State Conferences as well as fulfilling the aims and objectives of CWA. Bodalla branch has always been very active and I look back on my long membership with much pleasure, the highlights of which were receiving the branch’s first Life Membership in 1987 and proudly accepting the position of Group Patron in 2011.

I have complete confidence that CWA in Bodalla will continue with Pride in our past, faith in our future”.

Marion Emmott 2014

Leave a Reply

